Newcastle Bridge Club 2017 Congress

Congratulations to all members involved in this year’s congress.  Two days of enjoyable bridge was experienced by a record number of entries for the Club.  60 pairs participated in the Open section and 30 pairs in the Restricted/Novice section of the Pairs events, and 42 teams played in the Open section and 8 Teams played in the Restricted section of the Teams events.

Event winners can be seen at the NSWBA webpage:

 It was a miserable week-end weatherwise so what better place for bridge players to be?

 The success of the week-end may be attributed in no small part to the number of very willing volunteers who provided their support.  As the President, Jeff Biddlecombe and Vice President, Dave Puddicombe now appreciate, there is an enormous amount of work involved in running a bridge congress.  The effort on their part alone is to be commended in that this year’s congress was their first foray into that world.

 The Club is more than grateful for the effort of all its supporters.  To the members that shifted furniture, to those that set up and dismantled the venue, to those that dealt boards, to those that provided food, to those who made sure the food was available when required, and to those I may inadvertently have missed a very big THANK YOU.  It would not have happened if you had not been so generous with your spare time.

 And before closing on the offering of congratulations a word of appreciation is extended to our most competent and unflappable Director, Matthew McManus.  Please keep making yourself available to direct the NBC Congress.

Club members performed particularly well in all categories.  A few of the more successful members were:

Open N/S Pair winners
Michael Simes, Ken Wilks

Open E/W Pair winners
Geoff Lee, Bob Shearer

Restricted N/S winners
Kerrie Norris, Lynne Saunders

Restricted E/W Pair winners
Sue Harrison, Alison Lea

Best Newcastle Club N/S Pair
Sue McMaster, Sharron Marton

Best Newcastle Open E/W Pair winners
Margaret Thorn, Arthur Anlezark

Restricted Team winners
Belinda Olding, Jill Blenkey, Sandra Morris, Jan Maddern

Obviously they enjoyed the task of convening the Congress

Dave and Effie with time to relax